Teen Book- Scythe (Arc of Scythe #1)

28954189
Scythe (Arc of Scythe #1) by Neal Shusterman

 

Ok, so this book came out to me when I was out with a friend one day, I wanted some new reading material so I found myself hooked by the cover at my local Target, and thud here I am, writing this review about a well, interesting book, so without further adew

 

Sector (1

Thou shall kill

A world with no hunger, no disease, no war, no misery. Humanity has conquered all those things, and has even conquered death. Now scythes are the only ones that can end life, and they are commanded to do so, in order to keep the population under control

Citra and Rowan are chosen to apprentice to a scythe, a role that neither wants. These teens must master the “art” of taking life, knowing that the consequences of failure could mean losing their own.

 

Sector (2

So lets start with our leads, Rowan and Citra well….not the worst duel protagonist story I’ve ever read, and as this is my first exposure to this author, I must say I am impressed, even if this is a young adult. Still, I’ve read worse, but this one had main leads that I just felt neutral towards, I didn’t like them or hate them, just neutral. don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with them, I just really didn’t feel anything and I hate when interesting stories have characters I feel  nothing for, but what can you do? As for the duos first master, Scythe Faraday was actually a cool guy, and the so called “plot twist” that really irked me, did no justice to him, but I’ll get to that later.

Then we have the Scythedom….ooooh boy, no, no, no, I really didn’t….ugh, whatever, I won’t get into this now.

So let me get to the meat of the book, its plot.

 

no, ok, just no. this was not a bad book by any means, its just that its plot was all over the place, we got too many things happening and while I like Shusterman’s writing style, its his execution I have the problem with, his plot was very confusing, now, as I’m not doing any spoilers this time, I’ll say this, the idea of the book is great and I find the overall plot interesting, but there were just times that this author would throw complete 180s that made me scream.

I want to like your book, I love your writing style, but this plot is so annoying that it makes the characters less enjoyable and if this is a series of books, I’m not sure I’ll continue of this is the plot twists I have to look forward to. When a major character is supposedly killed, only to be brought back and said that a higher up wanted them dead, it boggles the mind. Once I got to the end, I thought we would have something, but I ended up even more confused and I made no sense for that THING to happen, I’m so sick of potential good stories either having confusing plots or bad writing.

As much as I felt a bit annoyed with that, I did find some enjoyment with the humor and the development of the characters, regardless of what I felt about them.

 

This book took me some time and it was more of a summarized Idea of what this was about, I enjoyed it, but I certainly was not as blown away as I thought, but that can’t be helped, lets not forget the Clare Clause, disguise bad writing with a pretty cover.

 

Sorry for being kind a short with this one, but I had a fun time reading a new author and I’ll be checking out his other works….just not this one, maybe. we’ll see.

 

Embrace the Dark, you call a home

Sing with me a song of Conquest and fate!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

