Teens book-Carve the Mark (Carve the Mark #1)

30117284
Carve the Mark (Carve the Mark #1) by Veronica Roth

No Spoilers for this review, but I’ll be as honest as I can be, and I do apologize if I sound confusing, I am trying to give my best thoughts on a story, so with that disclaimer out of the way….

So today I take the time review Divergent author, Veronica Roth’s new book, “Carve the Mark” and all of its content today, and I’ll be honest, I’m not sure how approach this book, I mean its Veronica Roth, but then I think, this is the same woman who wrote “Allegiant.” However, I’ll disregard that and treat this book as its own thing, so lets get started.

What I noticed right away is that Roth really likes duel points of view, now don’t get me wrong I enjoyed that aspect of this book, its just…I think I could have done without the first person, I really despise first person perspective, because in the YA (or Rick Riordan YA)  most of the time you find yourself listening to the character whos talking is either whining about their problems, or talking about someone’s cheekbones…seriously that, just needs to die already. However I really enjoyed Roth’s writing style, which made that bit worth it.

Main Leads:

Ok so characters? our main leads are Cyra and Arkos, we see everything from Cyra’s perspective in 1st person, while we see the world around Arkos in 3rd person. So everyone in this universe has what is called “currentgifts” unique skills or abilities for one person, example Cyra can cause others great pain on contact, while Arkos can cancel out anyone’s currentgift. Now between the two, I like Arkos better, nothing against Cyra I’m just sick of YA female leads, they are all the same one dimensional beings that all act the same no matter who writes them. However Cyra has a some good points, as I’ll get to in a bit.

Plot:

Now the plot of this story is somewhat all over the place, as Arkos and his brother Eijeh are taken by the evil Shotet empire, controlled by the Noavek family, who are led by Cyra’s older brother Ryzek. Unlike Divergent this one was hard to follow and I really tried my best, but there were times I had to go back and make sure I was even in the right page because the plot left me confused. Don’t get me wrong, I did enjoy this book, but with Roth trying too many new elements its trying too hard to be a good thing fro young readers, but instead leaves readers like me confused and not sure if I’d want to read from her again. I honestly thought I was going to lose my mind I was so lost, what made up for it was the climax, because this story would have been just a mess if left like this. another thing that I felt was out of place was the oracle, I won’t give too much into this but late in the book, I felt that an earlier even in the book was almost for nothing and just left me baffled.

Of course I’d have to say that what did make this book worth while was Cyra’s development, while I prefer Arkos, Cyra’s had the better development between the two, she lived under her brothers thumb for most of her life and when she does meet Arkos, its under unfavorable circumstances. However, because what he does to help her, she really develops into a butterfly by the end of the book, even if her morals are questionable.

What I can really say about this book is short; Its worth it to a point, if you have a need to lose yourself in a place where life makes absolute no sense, I do recommend you pick this up. If not then try something else, because this one might really be a snore fest or make you mad, because again Roth’s failed attempt in trying to address several real world issues makes this less enjoyable. seriously YA authors should stay away from topics like racism , its really bad.

 

Well that’s all for this one, not sure what I’ll tackle next but you best believe it will be something good, and with that, I hope you all have good days/nights wherever you and don’t forget to keep reading.

 

I’m a Molly Dolly, sarcasm not sold separately, he he he.

Leave a Reply

